Wk 12- Art Experience- Ethnography

Starting off my experience with no electricity, I really didn’t have no place to go asleep outside after my house is actually pretty small; I don’t have much yard space. So, I did the activity in two parts, outside under a tree with some chairs and inside with my bed.

Before I turned off all the electronics around me, I thought my experience was going to be easy but in deed quite boring. I did this activity with two of my siblings and at first it was quite relaxing. We were just chilling under a tree, hearing peaceful sounds that consisted of birds chirping, crickets, and dog barking from a far. We then had a couple long conversations about our days or memories. As the conversations started to end, I was just staring at the sky and stars. My sibling went back inside and I was left alone with my thoughts. After all this, it was already around 12:30a.m. and I was sleepy. So, I went inside to my bed and continued with no electronics. Every time I’m about to go to sleep, I usually see a couple minutes of television but this time I didn’t. I just laid there with the light off. I actually went to sleep pretty quickly; as a matter of fact, I didn’t even know when I fell to sleep. I woke up the next day, which was Sunday. I thought to myself that I was correct. My experience was easy but boring because I am used to being entertained by technology. Which made me realize that it’s a luxury what we have now, back then people couldn’t press a few buttons and instantly watch any entertainment.

This activity wasn’t frustrating for me but was in deed liberating. in the sense of myself, organizing a couple of thoughts or plans. I planed what I was going to do for the next day, when I usually just wake up and go as my day passes by.

Living without technology or electricity is of course organic, after electricity was invented or discovered. Our ancestors weren’t handed this as a start-up utility. They survived with what they were given, which was nature and each other. They had their own way of entertaining themselves.

20170422_151127

Leave a Reply

